1. Talking Heads Stop Making Sense (DLX 2-LP)
  2. Talking Heads Stop Making Sense (DLX 2-LP)
  3. Talking Heads Stop Making Sense (DLX 2-LP)

Talking Heads — Stop Making Sense (DLX 2-LP)

Regular price $39.95


Double Black Vinyl Deluxe Edition

Like a Talking Heads greatest hits, Stop Making Sense is widely regarded as one of the best concert films of all time. This 2-LP black vinyl edition features the full show back in print. Stop Making Sense starts strong with the band’s hit off their debut album, “Psycho Killer,” and dives into favorites and deep cuts from “Burning Down The House” and “This Must Be The Place” to “Girlfriend Is Better” and “Heaven.” The band also performs the Tom Tom Club’s “Genius Of Love.”

The inspiration for Stop Making Sense came when director Jonathan Demme saw the Talking Heads on the band’s 1983 tour for Speaking In Tongues. Demme ultimately filmed three shows at Hollywood’s Pantages Theater in December 1983 to create the film. The film presents a retrospective of the band, with a performance that weaves together songs from all six of its studio albums. The show progresses methodically, opening with David Byrne onstage performing “Psycho Killer” alone with a drum machine. After each song, he’s joined by a new band member, continuing to grow until everyone is on stage. The band performs a total of 18 songs, including “Burning Down The House,” which was in heavy rotation on radio and MTV — helping the song become the band’s first top 10 hit in America.

A different song from Speaking In Tongues, however, was destined to deliver one of the film’s signature moments: Byrne performed “Girlfriend Is Better” wearing his now iconic, oversized business suit inspired by costumes worn in traditional Japanese theater.

While the film had people dancing in theater aisles, the soundtrack sold over 2 million copies. In 2022, the Library of Congress added Stop Making Sense to the National Film Registry in recognition of its cultural, historical and aesthetic significance.

This new deluxe edition presents the Stop Making Sense full concert on two vinyl LPs. It includes a reproduction of the original booklet from the 1984 limited-edition pressing, plus liner notes written by Chris, David, Jerry and Tina.

Releasing: 7/26/24

Note: If you want other items in your order shipped immediately, please place preorders separately. If you choose local pick-up, the album will be available on the date of release.
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Label: Warner Records

Variant: Black

Format: 2-LP Deluxe Edition
Booklet Reproduction
New Liner Notes

  1. Psycho Killer
  2. Heaven
  3. Thank You For Sending Me An Angel
  4. Found A Job
  5. Slippery People
  6. Cities
  7. Burning Down The House
  8. Life During Wartime
  9. Making Flippy Floppy
  10. Swamp
  11. What A Day That Was
  12. This Must Be The Place (Naïve Melody)
  13. Once In A Lifetime
  14. Big Business / I Zimbra
  15. Genius Of Love
  16. Girlfriend Is Better
  17. Take Me To The River
  18. Crosseyed And Painless