1. sturgill-simpson-a sailors-guide-to-earth-1
  2. sturgill-simpson-a-sailors-guide-to-earth-2

Sturgill Simpson — A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

Regular price $26.95

180-Gram Vinyl LP

This 2016 release, the third album from the country singer/songwriter Sturgill Simpson, was written beginning-to-end as a love letter to his first child, who arrived during the summer of 2014. It features eight original songs as well as a cover of Nirvana’s “In Bloom.” Recorded primarily at Nashville’s The Butcher Shoppe, A Sailor’s Guide To Earth follows his breakthrough, Grammy-nominated 2014 release, Metamodern Sounds In Country Music.

Along with members of his touring band, the album features Dave Roe on bass, Dan Dugmore on steel guitar, Dougie Wilkinson on bagpipes, Garo Yellin and Arthur Cook on cello, Jonathan Dinklage and Whitney LaGrange on violin and special guests The Dap-Kings.

Released: 4/15/16

Label: Atlantic

Variant: 180-Gram

Format: 1-LP

  1. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)
  2. Breakers Roar
  3. Keep It Between the Lines
  4. Sea Stories
  5. In Bloom
  6. Brace for Impact (Live a Little)
  7. All Around You
  8. Oh Sarah
  9. Call to Arms