1. REM-Monster-vinyl-LP-record-album-front
  2. REM-Monster-vinyl-LP-record-album-back

R.E.M. — Monster

Regular price $29.95

180-Gram Remastered 25th Anniversary LP

R.E.M.’s ninth album, Monster, was released at a time when the band were coming off the peak of their mainstream success. Singer Michael Stipe, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist Mike Mills and drummer Bill Berry were decompressing from the massive commercial and critical success of 1991’s Out Of Time and 1992’s Automatic For The People. In just a few years, the Athens, GA, four-piece had become one of the biggest, most recognizable bands in the world. Coming from a long break in touring (the band famously didn’t tour with the two previous records), Monster represented an intentional shift in R.E.M.’s sound — a return to rock with guitar laden, simple arrangements. It was released in September 1994 to strong reviews and significant global success, and reached #1 on the Billboard charts.

Celebrating Monster’s 25th anniversary, this 180-gram edition remasters the original album. Highlights include the singles “What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?,” “Crush With Eyeliner,” “Star 69,” “Strange Currencies,” “Tongue” and “Bang And Blame.”

Released: 11/1/19

Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Label: Craft Recordings

Variant: 180-Gram

Format: LP Reissue
25th Anniversary Edition

  1. What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?
  2. Crush With Eyeliner
  3. King Of Comedy
  4. I Don’t Sleep, I Dream
  5. Star 69
  6. Strange Currencies
  7. Tongue
  8. Bang And Blame
  9. I Took Your Name
  10. Let Me In
  11. Circus Envy
  12. You