1. Wave Of Mutilation: The Best Of Pixies (2-LP)
  2. Wave Of Mutilation: The Best Of Pixies (2-LP)
  3. Wave Of Mutilation: The Best Of Pixies (2-LP)

Pixies — Wave Of Mutilation: The Best Of (2-LP)

Regular price $34.95

Double Black Vinyl LP

During their six years together, the Pixies released five albums: Come On Pilgrim (1987), Surfer Rosa (1988), Doolittle (1989), Bossanova (1990) and Trompe Le Monde (1991). Experiencing particular success in the UK and Europe, the Pixies played sold-out festivals and received a multitude of fan, peer and critical acclaim. The band’s influence was far-reaching; U2’s Bono referred to the Pixies as “one of America’s greatest bands ever”; David Bowie called their work “just about the most compelling music of the entire ’80s”; and Kurt Cobain, who identified Surfer Rosa as his favorite album of that entire decade, confessed, when writing “Smells Like Teen Spirit,” that, “Basically, I was ripping off the Pixies.”

This 23-track “Best Of” set runs (almost) chronologically and expands on the previous compilation, Death To The Pixies. The recordings remain fresh and vibrant — and a splendid introduction for old fans and new converts alike. Inevitably there are half a dozen tracks from Doolittle, the record that NME proclaimed the “second best album ever,” but there’s also a couple of B-sides, the live favorite “Into The White” and the band’s cover of Neil Young’s “Winterlong.”

Released: 1/11/11

Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Label: 4Ad

Variant: Black

Format: 2-LP
Gatefold Jacket

  1. Bone Machine
  2. Nimrod’s Son
  3. The Holiday Song
  4. Caribou
  5. Broken Face
  6. Gigantic
  7. Vamos
  8. Hey
  9. Monkey Gone To Heaven
  10. Debaser
  11. Gouge Away
  12. Wave Of Mutilation
  13. Here Comes Your Man
  14. Tame
  15. Where Is My Mind
  16. Into The White
  17. Velouria
  18. Allison
  19. Dig For Fire
  20. U-Mass
  21. Alec Eiffel
  22. Planet Of Sound
  23. Winterlong