1. Miles Davis Quiet Nights
  2. Miles Davis Quiet Nights

Miles Davis — Quiet Nights

Regular price $43.95

180-Gram Audiophile Vinyl

Limited edition reissue of Davis’ 1963 bossa nova-inspired album, which was arranged and conducted by Gil Evans & produced by Teo Macero. It features the 1996 mix by Mark Wilder for the Grammy-winning box set, Miles Davis Gil Evans The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings. Quiet Nights is a mix of situations and sources: Brazilian folk (“Prenda Minha,” titled “Song #2”), Spanish classical (“Adelita” by guitar pioneer Francisco Tárrega, here called “Song #1”), and a few ballads. There’s one that stands out from the rest of the big band album: “Summer Night,” a quintet take featuring Davis playing muted then open trumpet and the start of a new band: tenor saxophonist George Coleman, pianist Victor Feldman, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Frank Butler.

Released: 9/22/23

Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Label: Music On Vinyl

Variant: 180-Gram Audiophile

Format: Heavyweight Jacket w/Linen Laminate Finish

  1. Song #2
  2. Once Upon A Summertime
  3. Aos Pes Da Cruz
  4. Song #1
  5. Wait Till You See Her
  6. Corcovado
  7. Summer Night