1. Kenny Burrell Blue Note Release
  2. Kenny Burrell Blue Note Release 1543
  3. Kenny Burrell Blue Note Release 1543

Kenny Burrell — Kenny Burrell (Blue Note 1543)

Regular price $32.95

Limited 180-Gram Vinyl LP in Deluxe Gatefold Jacket

The first thing that strikes you about Kenny Burrell’s second Blue Note album, simply titled Kenny Burrell (BLP 1543), is the cover, which features an illustration by Andy Warhol, the first of three Blue Note covers the soon-to-be famed artist collaborated on with designer Reid Miles. The second is the striking music, which is drawn from four different sessions recorded in 1956 with the great guitarist featured in a variety of different configurations. The opener, a brisk romp through Harold Arlen’s “Get Happy,” features Tommy Flanagan on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, Kenny Clarke on drums, and Candido on congas. That leads into a stunning solo guitar rendition of the Gershwin tune “But Not For Me,” which is followed by the live track “Mexico City,” a piece by Kenny Dorham and recorded with the trumpeter’s sextet at the Café Bohemia. Burrell and Flanagan are joined by bassist Oscar Pettiford and drummer Shadow Wilson on the Basie band number “Moten Swing” and Burrell’s “Cheeta,” and tenor saxophonist Frank Foster makes it a quintet for Pettiford’s “Now See How You Are,” Burrell’s “Phinupi,” and the Burton Lane standard “How About You.” Part of the Blue Note Tone Poet Series, which features all-analog remastering.

Released: 10/7/22

Label: Blue Note Records

Variant: 180-Gram

Format: Deluxe Gatefold Jacket
Analog Remastering

  1. Get Happy
  2. But Not For Me
  3. Mexico City
  4. Moten Swing
  5. Cheeta
  6. Now See How You Are
  7. Phinupi
  8. How About You