1. John Coltrane & Eric Dolphy Evenings At The Village Gate (2-LP)
  2. John Coltrane & Eric Dolphy Evenings At The Village Gate (2-LP)

John Coltrane w/Eric Dolphy — Evenings At The Village Gate (2-LP)

Regular price $42.95

Double Black Vinyl in Gatefold Jacket

In August of 1961, the John Coltrane Quintet played an engagement at the legendary Village Gate in Greenwich Village, New York. Eighty minutes of never-before-heard live music from this group were recently discovered at the New York Public Library. In addition to some well-known Coltrane material (“Impressions”), there is a breathtaking feature for Dolphy’s bass clarinet on “When Lights Are Low.” This release also features the only known non-studio recording of Coltrane’s composition, “Africa,” from the Africa/Brass album.

  • Alto Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Flute – Eric Dolphy
  • Bass – Art Davis, Reggie Workman
  • Drums – Elvin Jones
  • Piano – McCoy Tyner
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – John Coltrane

Released: 7/14/23

Label: Impulse Records

Vinyl: Black

Format: Gatefold Jacket
Mono Recording

  1. My Favorite Things (15:45)
  2. When Lights Are Low (15:10)
  3. Impressions (10:00)
  4. Greensleeves (18:15)
  5. Africa (22:41)