1. Herbie Hancock Takin’ Off
  2. Herbie Hancock Takin’ Off

Herbie Hancock — Takin’ Off

Regular price $22.95

180-Gram Black Vinyl in Gatefold Jacket

On his debut album, Takin’ Off, recorded and released in 1962, jazz legend Herbie Hancock arrived fully formed at the helm of an impressive quintet with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, tenor saxophonist Dexter Gordon, bassist Butch Warren, and drummer Billy Higgins. Though rooted firmly in hard bop, the brilliant pianist and composer presented his own strikingly original voice on this six-song album consisting entirely of his own compositions — from the timeless ballad “Alone And I” to the funky hit “Watermelon Man,” which made it to the Top 100 on the pop charts.

Released: 2/16/18

Label: Dol

Variant: Black

Format: LP Reissue
Gatefold Jacket

  1. Watermelon Man
  2. Three Bags Full
  3. Empty Pockets
  4. The Maze
  5. Driftin’
  6. Alone And I