Herbie Hancock Jammin’ With Herbie

Herbie Hancock — Jammin’ With Herbie (2-LP)

Regular price $29.95

Double Purple Vinyl LP Reissue

Hancock started his career with trumpet player Donald Byrd’s group. He recorded his first solo album, Takin’ Off, for Blue Note Records in 1962. “Watermelon Man” (from Takin’ Off) caught the attention of Miles Davis, who was in the process of assembling a new band. Hancock was introduced to Davis by the young drummer Tony Williams, a member of the new band.

Hancock received considerable attention when, in May 1963, he joined Davis’s Second Great Quintet. Davis personally sought out Hancock, whom he saw as one of the most promising talents in jazz. The rhythm section Davis organized was young but effective, comprising bassist Ron Carter, 17-year-old drummer Williams, and Hancock on piano. After George Coleman and Sam Rivers each took a turn at the saxophone spot, the quintet gelled with Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone. This quintet is often regarded as one of the finest jazz ensembles yet. While in Davis’s band, Hancock also found time to record dozens of sessions for the Blue Note label, both under his own name and as a sideman with other musicians.

Davis had begun incorporating elements of rock and popular music into his recordings by the end of Hancock’s tenure with the band. Despite some initial reluctance, Hancock began doubling on electric keyboards, including the Fender Rhodes electric piano. Hancock adapted quickly to the new electronic keyboard instruments, which proved to be important in his future artistic endeavors. While Hancock continued to appear on Davis’ records for the next few years, he formed his own sextet in the summer of 1968. Hancock became fascinated with electronic musical instruments. Together with the profound influence of Davis’ Bitches Brew (1970), this fascination culminated in a series of albums in which electronic instruments were coupled with acoustic ones. This compilation is culled from those 1960s albums and singles.

Released: 5/10/24

Label: Rennaissance

Variant: Purple

Format: 2-LP Reissue

  1. Maulana (9:38)
  2. Mr. Lucky (Rock Your Soul) (6:37)
  3. Kamili (5:42)
  4. Dunia (8:22)
  5. Hot Piano (7:22)
  6. Live & Awake (3:53)
  7. Jammin’ With Herbie (6:35)
  8. Cat Call (9:43)
  9. Daydream (Soul Power) (4:53)
  10. Herbie’s Blues (5:55)
  11. Hot And Heavy (3:02)
  12. Far Out (2:32)
  13. Scoochie (5:12)