1. Elton John Honky Chateau
  2. Elton John Honky Chateau (50th Ann 2-LP)
  3. Elton John Honky Chateau
  4. Elton John Honky Chateau

Elton John — Honky Chateau

Regular price $31.95

Standard or 50th Anniversary Double LP Edition

Elton John is at the top of his form on this 1972 release, crafting immaculate pop songs with memorable melodies and powerful hooks. Studio album #5, was named after the 18th century Chateau d’Herouville outside Paris where it was recorded, features the breakout hits “Honky Cat” and “Rocket Man,” and marks the beginning of his transition from a singer/songwriter to a more rock-n-roll style. It was also the first album to feature what went on to become his longtime road band: Dee Murray on bass, Nigel Olsson on drums and Davey Johnstone on electric and acoustic guitars.

The 50th anniversary edition contains the original album, plus a newly created selection of outtakes from the original session tapes. It also includes an 8-page booklet of rare photos, memorabilia and an essay featuring interviews from those who were there at the time.

LP Reissue: 6/30/17
50th Ann. Edition: 3/24/23

Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Label: Island / Mercury

Variant: Black

Format: 1-LP Reissue
50th Anniversary 2-LP w/Inserts
Gatefold Jacket

  1. Honky Cat
  2. Mellow
  3. I Think I’m Going To Kill Myself
  4. Susie (Dramas)
  5. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time)
  6. Salvation
  7. Slave
  8. Amy
  9. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters
  10. Hercules
  11. Salvation (Session Demo)
  12. Susie (Dramas) (Session Demo)
  13. Rocket Man (It’s Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time) (Session Demo)
  14. Mellow (Session Demo)
  15. Slave - Alternate "Fast" Version (Session Demo)
  16. Honky Cat (Session Demo)
  17. I Think I’m Going To Kill Myself (Session Demo)
  18. Hercules (Session Demo)
  19. Slave (Session Demo)