1. Dave Brubeck Time Out & Time Further Out (2-LP)
  2. Dave Brubeck Time Out & Time Further Out (2-LP)

Dave Brubeck Quartet — Time Out & Time Further Out (2-LP)

Regular price $36.95

Double LP on 180-Gram Vinyl in Gatefold Jacket

Brubeck’s Time Out was originally released in 1959. The title, a play on words, refers not only to a period of relaxation, but also alludes to the use of time signatures that were “out,” or non-standard. The album was experimental and Columbia took a chance in allowing it to be released. The album went platinum — the first jazz album to sell more than a million records — and hit #2 on the pop chart. It would establish the Quartet and help propel jazz firmly into mainstream culture.

Time Further Out was released in 1961 and features the original line-up from the first Time Out album. Time Further Out continues the Dave Brubeck Quartet’s exploration of unusual time signatures, and the tracks are ordered by the number of beats per bar, starting with “It’s A Raggy Waltz” and “Bluette” in 3/4 and concluding with “Blue Shadows In The Street” in 9/8. The time signatures are listed on the album’s cover, where they are referred to as “tempos.”

Dave Brubeck: Piano
Paul Desmond: Alto Saxophone
Eugene Wright: Double Bass
Joe Morello: Drums

Released: 6/12/12

Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Label: Not Now Music

Variant: Black

Format: 2-LP

  1. Blue Rondo Á La Turk
  2. Strange Meadow Lark
  3. Take Five
  4. Three To Get Ready
  5. Kathy's Waltz
  6. Everybody's Jumpin'
  7. Pick Up The Sticks
  8. It's A Raggy Waltz
  9. Bluette
  10. Charles Matthew Hallelujah
  11. Far More Blue
  12. Far More Drums
  13. Maori Blues
  14. Unsquare Dance
  15. Bru's Boogie Woogie
  16. Blue Shadows In The Street