1. John Coltrane Blue Train The Complete Masters
  2. John Coltrane Blue Train The Complete Masters

John Coltrane — Blue Train: The Complete Masters (Blue Note Stereo 2-LP)

Regular price $49.95

Blue Note Tone Poet Stereo Remaster on Double 180-Gram Vinyl + Booklet

On September 15, 1957, John Coltrane went into Rudy Van Gelder’s living room studio in Hackensack, NJ, and recorded his first great masterpiece: Blue Train. It would be the legendary saxophonist’s sole album as a leader for Blue Note, a locomotive five-track album fueled by the bluesy title track that featured a dynamic six-piece band with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Curtis Fuller on trombone, Kenny Drew on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, and Philly Joe Jones on drums. To mark the 65th anniversary of the album’s recording, Blue Train is released as part of Blue Note’s acclaimed Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series, produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.

Blue Train: The Complete Masters includes a second disc of alternate and incomplete takes, four of which have never been released before, and none of which have been available previously on vinyl. The 2-LP set comes with a bound booklet featuring session photos by Francis Wolff and an essay by Coltrane expert Ashley Kahn.

Released: 9/16/22

Label: Blue Note Records

Variant: 180-Gram

Format: 2-LP
65th Anniversary Remaster
Booklet w/Photos & Essay

  1. Blue Train
  2. Moment’s Notice
  3. Locomotion
  4. I’m Old Fashioned
  5. Lazy Bird
  6. Blue Train (False Start)
  7. Blue Train (Alternate Take 7)
  8. Moment’s Notice (Alternate Take 4)
  9. Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 1)
  10. Blue Train (Alternate Take 8)
  11. Moment’s Notice (Alternate Take 5A Incomplete)
  12. Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 2)