1. The Band 50th Anniversary LP
  2. The Band 50th Anniversary LP

Band — The Band (50th Ann Ed 2-LP)

Regular price $41.95

Limited Edition Double Album on Multi-Colored Vinyl

When The Band’s seminal second album was released on September 22, 1969, not much was known about the reclusive group, even though they had released their landmark debut, Music From Big Pink, just the year before. Made up of four Canadians and one American, The Band was shrouded in mystery, allowing for listeners and the music press to let their imaginations run wild about who these men were and what this music was that sounded unlike anything else happening at the close of the psychedelic ’60s. Dressed like 19th century fire-and-brimstone preachers and singing rustic, sepia-toned songs about America and the Deep South, The Band — Garth Hudson (keyboards, piano, horn), Levon Helm (drums, vocals, mandolin), Richard Manuel (keyboards, vocals, drums), Rick Danko (bass, vocals, fiddle) and Robbie Robertson (guitar, piano, vocals) — was an enigma. And their self-titled “Brown Album,” as it would lovingly be called, cemented their status as one of the most exciting and revolutionary bands in years, on the strength of now-classic songs like “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” “Up On Cripple Creek” and “Rag Mama Rag.” This special 50th anniversary release has been remastered and cut at 45RPM on double vinyl.

Released: 11/15/19

Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Label: Capitol

Variant: Multi-Color
Cut at 45 RPM

Format: 2-LP
50th Anniversary Edition

  1. Across The Great Divide
  2. Rag Mama Rag
  3. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  4. When You Awake
  5. Up On Cripple Creek
  6. Whispering Pines
  7. Jemima Surrender
  8. Rockin’ Chair
  9. Look Out Cleveland
  10. Jawbone
  11. The Unfaithful Servant
  12. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)