1. Linda Lindas Growing Up IE Clear, Blue, Pink
  2. Linda Lindas Growing Up IE Clear, Blue, Pink

Linda Lindas — Growing Up (IE Clear, Blue, Pink)

Regular price $21.95

Indie Exclusive Clear with Blue & Pink Vinyl

A product of generations of California’s underground music scene, The Linda Lindas’ debut channels classic punk, post punk, power pop, new wave and other surprises into timelessly catchy and cool songs sung by all four members — each with her own style and energy. The Linda Lindas first played together as members of a pickup new wave cover band of kids assembled by Kristin Kontrol (Dum Dum Girls) for Girlschool LA in 2018 and then formed their own garage punk group just for fun. Sisters Mila de la Garza (drummer, 11) and Lucia de la Garza (guitar, 14), cousin Eloise Wong (bass, 13), and family friend Bela Salazar (guitar, 17) developed their chops as regulars at all-ages matinees in Chinatown, where they played with original L.A. punks like The Dils, Phranc and Alley Cats. They went on to open for riot grrrl legends Bikini Kill and architect Alice Bag, as well as DIY heavyweights Best Coast and Bleached. They were also featured in Amy Poehler’s movie Moxie.

When the pandemic put a pause on shows, The Linda Lindas went on to self-release a four-song EP, make their own videos and grow a following beyond LA. But they never dreamed their performance of “Racist, Sexist Boy” for the Los Angeles Public Library in May 2021 would take them from punk shows to TV shows. A month later, when the school year ended and summer began, The Linda Lindas got to work on their first full-length LP. Having written a mountain of new material individually while sheltering in place and attending class virtually, the band was more than ready to enter the studio where Mila and Lucia’s dad, Carlos de la Garza, oversaw recording and production. The Grammy-winning producer’s work includes Paramore, Bad Religion, Best Coast and Bleached.

Released: 7/15/22

Label: Epitaph

Vinyl: Clear w/Blue & Pink

Format: Indie Exclusive

  1. Oh!
  2. Growing Up
  3. Talking To Myself
  4. Fine
  5. Nino
  6. Why
  7. Cuantas Veces
  8. Remember
  9. Magic
  10. Racist, Sexist Boy