Jon Batiste — We Are (2-LP)

Regular price $28.95

Album of the Year at the 64th Annual Grammy Awards

Double Album Pressing

You might know him as the bandleader and musical director on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert. But Batiste also serves as the music director of The Atlantic and the Creative Director of the National Jazz Museum in Harlem. In 2020, he co-composed the score for the Pixar animated film Soul, for which he received an Academy Award, a Golden Globe Award, a Grammy Award and a BAFTA Film Award (all shared with Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross).

We Are is a career-changing album for Batiste that celebrates Black American culture and music, while exploring themes of lineage, authenticity, excellence and evolution. This album is about honoring roots and traditions, while looking forward to the future and constantly evolving. It features guest appearances by Mavis Staples, Zadie Smith, PJ Morton, Trombone Shorty, Kizzo, Autumn Rowe, Steve Jordan, and many more.

Released: 3/19/21

Label: Verve

Vinyl: Black

Format: 2-LP

  1. We Are (feat. St. Augustine High School Marching 100, David Gauthier, Gospel Soul Children, Craig Adams, Braedon Gautier, Brennan Gautier, Autumn Rowe)
  2. Tell The Truth
  3. Cry
  4. I Need You
  5. Whachutalkinbout
  6. Boy Hood (feat. PJ Morton, Trombone Shorty)
  7. Movement 11
  8. Adulthood (feat. Hot 8 Brass Band)
  9. Mavis
  10. Freedom
  11. Show Me The Way (feat. Zadie Smith)
  12. Sing
  13. Until