Charles Mingus — Mingus Ah Um (Blue Vinyl)

Regular price $21.95

Limited Anniversary Edition Blue Vinyl Pressing

Part of the 2020 Anniversary Collection, Mingus Ah Um was originally released in 1959. On the album, Mingus pays tribute to many of his musical predecessors through songs like “Goodbye Pork Pie Hat,” “Open Letter To Duke” and “Jelly Roll.” The song “Fables Of Faubus” was named after Arkansas Governor Orval E. Faubus, who wouldn’t allow integration of Little Rock schools even after the U.S. Supreme Court ruled otherwise. Mingus Ah Um is a stunning summation of the bassist’s talents and probably the best reference point for beginners.

Released: 12/6/19

Label: Dol

Vinyl: Blue

Format: Limited Edition

  1. Better Git It In Your Soul
  2. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
  3. Boogie Stop Shuffle
  4. Self-Portrait In Three Colors
  5. Open Letter To Duke
  6. Bird Calls
  7. Fables Of Faubus
  8. Pussy Cat Dues
  9. Jelly Roll