Joe Cocker — Mad Dogs & Englishmen


Double LP, 180g Vinyl, Import

Joe Cocker’s Mad Dogs & Englishmen live album is as legendary for the players as it was the player. Three dozen musicians, including a three-piece horn section, a bevy of back-up singers and wild-eyed arranger and bandleader Leon Russell, turn Mad Dogs & Englishmen into an big, brash, all-out rock-n-roll revue.

Recorded in 1970 at the Fillmore East, Joe Cocker’s Mad Dogs & Englishmen double album showcases some stellar covers — drawing equally from rock (The Rolling Stones, Traffic, Bob Dylan, The Beatles) and soul (Ray Charles, Sam and Dave, Otis Redding) — all presented on a grand scale that hasn’t been matched since. Standout tracks include Feelin’ Alright, Give Peace a Chance and Delta Lady.

1 in stock

Category: Tags: ,

The story behind Joe Cocker’s Mad Dogs & Englishman tour is that he had about eight days to pull a band together after his management sprang a surprise North American leg on him. Musician-composer-producer Leon Russell assembled the players, and a choir of wives, girlfriends, friends, acquaintances and professional back-up singers formed as the tour rolled on. The power of this rag-tag group is captured powerfully on the choruses of songs like The Letter, Feelin' Alright and Cry Me a River. A movie of the tour captures all the excitement of Joe Cocker’s Mad Dogs & Englishmen, which remains one of the most important live rock recordings around (you can watch a clip here).

In case you’re wondering, the title for Joe Cocker’s Mad Dogs & Englishmen comes from a comic 1931 song by British playwright Noel Coward, who noted that only a mad dog or an Englishman would dare venture out in the midday sun.

Side 1:

  1. Introduction (0:45)
  2. Honky Tonk Women (3:35)
  3. Introduction (0:18)
  4. Sticks And Stones (2:30)
  5. Cry Me A River (3:50)
  6. Bird On The Wire (6:15)

Side 2:

  1. Feelin’ Alright (5:300
  2. Superstar (4:55)
  3. Introduction (0:15)
  4. Let’s Go Get Stoned (7:15)

Side 3:

  1. Blue Medley: I’ll Drown In My Own Tears / When Something Is Wrong With My Baby / I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (12:47)
  2. Introduction (0:20)
  3. Girl From The North Country (2:30)
  4. Give Peace A Chance (4:20)

Side 4:

  • Introduction (0:40)
  • She Came In Thru The Bathroom Window (2:50)
  • Space Captain (4:55)
  • The Letter (4:20)
  • Delta Lady (5:35)




Availability Now available in-store at
100 Blue Ridge Drive Suite #109 McCaysville 30555

Powered With Oliver Pos


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Joe Cocker — Mad Dogs & Englishmen”

FREE Shipping

FREE Shipping on orders of $50+ — low flat rate on others.

Secure Payment

Safe shopping guaranteed via Paypal or credit card.

Satisfaction Guaranteed

30-day money back guarantee on all purchases.

Email Support

Questions before you order? Just want to chat?

gtag('event', 'add_to_cart', { 'event_category': 'ecommerce', }); gtag('event', 'purchase', { 'event_category': 'ecommerce', }); gtag('event', 'view item', { 'event_category': 'engagement', }); gtag('event', 'view_search_results', { 'event_category': 'engagement', }); gtag('event', 'sign_up', { 'event_category': 'engagement', });