Jimi Hendrix Experience — Axis Bold As Love


Authorized Hendrix Family Edition — remastered on 180-gram vinyl

Jimi and the Experience come out swinging on album #2, released just seven months after their incendiary debut record and six months after their stunning U.S. debut at the Monterey Pop Festival. Axis shows Jimi’s evolution as a songwriter with sensitive ballads like Little Wing and Castles Made of Sand.

1 in stock (can be backordered)

Feedback Ahead

Axis Bold As Love features some serious sonic exploration — from Jimi’s guitar feedback and tremolo-bar dive bombs to the experimental stereo panning effect, which causes the sound to revolve around the listener — notable on the album opener, EXP. This is also the first time Hendrix plays his guitar through a revolving Leslie speaker to create a wavering effect (the Leslie is typically used on an organ). Check out this video of engineer Eddie Kramer providing a behind-the-scenes look at the recording of Axis Bold as Love.

Side 1:

  1. EXP
  2. Up from the Skies
  3. Spanish Castle Magic
  4. Wait Until Tomorrow
  5. Ain't No Telling
  6. Little Wing
  7. If 6 Was 9

Side 2:

  1. You Got Me Floatin
  2. Castles Made of Sand
  3. She's So Fine
  4. One Rainy Wish
  5. Little Miss Lover
  6. Bold as Love

Interestingly, Axis almost missed its release date after Hendrix left the master tape of side one in the back seat of a London taxi. There was a hurried overnight remixing of most of the side, with bassist Noel Redding literally using an iron to smooth out the wrinkles in his tape of If 6 Was 9.

Be sure to check out Jimi's mind-blowing debut album. We have Are You Experienced available for just $18.95.





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Jimi Hendrix Experience — Axis Bold As Love”

Flat Rate Shipping

$4.25 flat rate shipping for all orders.

Secure Payment

Safe shopping guaranteed via Paypal.

Satisfaction Guaranteed

30-day money back guarantee on all purchases.

Email Support

Questions before you order? Just want to chat?

gtag('event', 'add_to_cart', { 'event_category': 'ecommerce', }); gtag('event', 'purchase', { 'event_category': 'ecommerce', }); gtag('event', 'view item', { 'event_category': 'engagement', }); gtag('event', 'view_search_results', { 'event_category': 'engagement', }); gtag('event', 'sign_up', { 'event_category': 'engagement', });